I used to run. Back in the day, about ten years ago, I read online about couch to 5K and how anyone can run. And at the time it was true, I did work myself up to running for 30 minutes at a stretch. My toes would go numb, and sometimes I vomited, but I could do it. I went through the cycle about 4 times, building up to 30 minutes, then having a few months (or years) off, then doing it again. I didn't run fast, but I was definitely running (not jogging, jogging is so 1987).
Then all of a sudden, when I tried to do the program, my hips hurt. First one, then the other. And my feet felt like they were collapsing in on themselves when I got out of bed every morning, I could hardly put weight on them, and between that and my hips, I was walking like I was 80 years old for 20 minutes every morning. And the old lady hip hurt to sleep on, and it was all quite ridiculous. So I took myself off to the GP, and had a moan, and she told me it was because I was getting "older". Apparently, these aches and pains are what I have to look forward to. Great. I'm so excited. She also said I should stop running and see if it made a difference. It did. So now I don't run anymore. because old lady hip and feet, boring.
It turns out my feet object to inappropriate foot wear also, so I get pain if I don't wear sensible shoes, which is fine in winter when I can wear my purple Docs every day, but in summer, the options for sensible shoes are so boring, and I have loads of pretty shoes that look awesome, so for my vanity, I put up with the sore feet.
This morning I went walking, because that's my exercise now. I have a walking buddy and we stride around the river and solve the problems of the world one by one, two birds one stone, it's great. The river is a 7 km walk which is just about right, it takes just over an hour. Not even 1pm and I'm almost at 10000 steps, that probably means I can sit on the lounge and read my book all afternoon right?
No comments:
Post a Comment